On Saturday, May 5, Whitewright voters will head to the polls to choose the mayor and city council places along with Whitewright ISD Board of Trustee seats.

The mayor’s position; two council seats, Places 3 and 4, are up for election with two-year terms and the unexpired one-year term for Place 5 are all up for election. Jeremiah Looney is not seeking re-election for mayor while Russell Ponder and Jamie Lawrence are vying for the position.

In Place 3, Russell Ponder currently holds the spot and he is seeking the mayor’s position. Rick Magers and Philip Guthrie are seeking the place. For Place 4, incumbent John Simon is facing Randy Glover and the unexpired term that George Fenner was appointed to has no opposition for the remaining one-year term.

The Whitewright ISD has two three-year terms expiring for June Gail Purdom and Brian Ritchie who are both seeking re-election along with Justin Minzenmeyer. For the one remaining unexpired term, Larry Henderson is unopposed.

The deadline to register to vote in this election is April 5. Early voting begins on Monday, April 23, and will be open through Tuesday, May 1. Election Day will be on Saturday, May 5th from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.


Election coming May 5

Mayor Looney not seeking re-election

Joint Primaries March 6
Whitewright vote center moved
The joint Democratic and Republican Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 6 from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Registered voters in Grayson County may vote at any location. The Whitewright vote center has been moved for this election to the Church of Christ located at 606 South Carter Street.

Grayson County Vote Centers for registered voters:

Bells:  Bells City Hall  203 S. Broadway
Collinsville:  Collinsville Community Building   117 N. Main
Denison:  Grayson College - Denison Campus  6101 Grayson Dr.
Denison:  Grayson County Sub-Courthouse  101 W. Woodard
Denison:  Parkside Baptist Church  301 N. Lillis Lane
Denison:  Southside Baptist Church  3500 S. Park
Gordonville:  First Baptist Church  206 Gordonville Rd
Gunter:  First Baptist Church  99 Gentle Creek Lane
Howe:  Howe Community Center  700 W. Haning
Pottsboro:  Pottsboro ISD Administration Building   105 Cardinal Lane
Sadler:  Sadler Baptist Church  419 S. Main
Sherman:  East Sherman Baptist Church  910 E. King
Sherman:  Election Administration Building  115 W. Houston
Sherman:  Faith Church  1800 N. FM 1417
Sherman:  Luella First Baptist Church  3162 Hwy 11
Sherman:  Municipal Building  405 N. Rusk
Sherman:  Texoma Council of Governments  1117 Gallagher Drive
Sherman:  United Way of Grayson County  713 E. Brockett
Tioga:  Tioga Fire Dept. Meeting Room  601 E. Main St.
Tom Bean:  First National Bank - Tom Bean  109 S. Britton
Van Alstyne:  Grayson College - Van Alstyne  1455 W. Van Alstyne Pkwy
Whitesboro:  Whitesboro City Hall  111 W. Main
Whitewright:  Church of Christ  606 S. Carter St.
Fannin County Voting
Bonham: Bonham Civic Center  1100 W 5th St.
Fannin County Early Election voting
Early voting for the joint primary election began Tuesday and continues Thursday, March 22 from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Friday, February 23 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday, February 24 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Monday, February 26 through Friday, March 2 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.